Gavan – Our First Grandson

As a grandma, there is something that I have noticed about myself that is different than when I was a mother to young children. I notice that I marvel at every little thing that these little boys learn. I marvel that they are so smart and that they learn so quickly. I marvel at the fact that God created us in such amazing ways. These little boy’s minds soak everything that they see and hear.

Our first grandson was born 13 weeks early. He weighed 1 lb. 11 oz. He spent the first 3 months of his life in a Neonatal Intensive Care Unit. He was so small that my son-in-law could fit his wedding band on Gavan’s arm up to his elbow. Each day was a roller coaster ride emotionally for mom and dad. The doctor’s could not guarantee that this little boy would live a normal child’s life. But as each day passed Gavan got stronger and stronger. At one point he had to have a blood transfusion, but they said that is normal for premature babies. All his brain scans came back normal. His lungs got stronger each day. We were praising God for his progress.

img0347392

Today he is three years old. He is still small in size, but he has a huge personality and is so full of energy. He is the cutest thing ever. He loves Disney movies and his first Disney movie was “Cars.” He would get so excited watching the cars race. Lightning McQueen is his favorite, but he couldn’t say Lightning so he would say LiLi. Between my house and his house we probably have over 75 cars from that movie. He lines these cars up in a row, side by side, all facing forward. He started doing this when he was somewhere around a year and half old.

Now that we live in North Carolina, only two miles away, I get to babysit them a couple days a week. So I am always looking for ways to keep them occupied. I have bought some puzzles of Cars and Toy Story. A couple of months ago I started doing these puzzles with him. I can’t tell you how much he loves to do puzzles. He is also good at it. He will sit at the kitchen table for hours and do one puzzle after another. In the beginning I would tell him where each piece would go, but now he almost knows where each piece goes. These puzzles are not the kind that you fit a shape into the right space. They are interlocking puzzles.

IMG_1592 IMG_1591

Gavan is very observant and curious. He also repeats EVERYTHING that he hears. When we do these puzzles I am always saying to him “good job” when he figures it out for himself. Now he tells us good job. Good job, Daddy; Good job, mommy; good job mama when we do something right. He also puts the emphasis in good job like I do. It is so cute.

Each day that I spend with my grandson is a new adventure. It is a great blessing and a great joy to be a grandma (Mama).

 

 

2 thoughts on “Gavan – Our First Grandson

  1. Wow. I don’t have any kids myself, but I do have nieces and nephews. Although it is not the same as grandchildren, being able to watch them grow up and seeing the things they do and complete just grows your heart. Gavan is a very cute, and extremely smart little boy! The pictures you have of him in the NICU and now, as he puts together the puzzles is just wonderful to see. It puts together the entire package of who Gavan is and how he has grown. I can’t wait to see and hear about what he is doing as he gets older, as well as how he interacts with his new brother. You have a wonderful blog chronicling your time with these boys and how being a grandmother is to them. Will you be including things you have learned or things that you do together with them? I think that would be a great addition to your blog. It’s nice to find out what others do with their time with the kids. Creative activities and such. Great job!

    Like

  2. This is a very well written post. I can tell that you poured a lot of thought into this. It takes a lot to share the type of personal information that you have here. This post is inspirational to parents and grandparents whose little ones had a rough time at birth.

    Like

Leave a comment